My Name – History

My name is Armaan.
It is a muslim name, from my mother’s side of the family. I forget whose idea it was to name me that, one of my grandparents, I think. It means ‘wish’.
My parents had been unable to have a child for a very, very long time. They had been trying for a while, until finally Mom joined work at a certain company that offered its employees certain benefits, such as financial benefits for the in-vitro process.
For those who don’t know what that is, let’s just say that all the ingredients needed to make, well, me, were mixed up on a petri-dish, left to grow for a few weeks and then put into my mom, where I grew for nine months before being cut out of her.
And so, finally, at last, after, my parents got their wish – they had a child. And they named him Armaan, for it means “wish”

Leave a Reply

